The Four Yugas: A Hindu Perspective on Time

Four Yugas

In Hinduism, there are four Yugas, or ages, that make up the complete cycle of creation and destruction on Earth. These Yugas are Satya Yuga, Treta Yuga, Dwapar Yuga, and Kali Yuga.

The Siddhanta subdivision of astrology, often referred to as the ‘math’ part, precisely defines the calculation of time periods. These time periods range from microseconds (Truti) to eras of divine beings. It’s worth noting that the concept of time in Hinduism transcends our general understanding, encapsulating eras (Yugas), epochs (Manvantars), and cosmic days (Brahma Ji’s day). Four Yugas.

  • Satya Yuga is the first and most perfect Yuga. It is a time of great peace, prosperity, and harmony. People are naturally virtuous and there is no crime or violence.
  • Treta Yuga is the second Yuga. It is a time of decline from Satya Yuga, but there is still much good in the world. People are still mostly virtuous, but there is some crime and violence.
  • Dwapar Yuga is the third Yuga. It is a time of further decline from Treta Yuga. People are less virtuous and there is more crime and violence.
  • Kali Yuga is the fourth and current Yuga. It is a time of great darkness and suffering. People are mostly selfish and greedy, and there is much crime and violence.

The length of each Yuga is different. Satya Yuga is the longest, lasting 1,000 divine years. Treta Yuga is half as long, lasting 500 divine years. Dwapar Yuga is a quarter as long, lasting 250 divine years. And Kali Yuga is the shortest, lasting only 100 divine years.

The four Yugas are cyclical, meaning that they repeat after a certain period of time. The current Kali Yuga is estimated to have begun around 3102 BCE, and it is expected to last for another 426,000 years. After that, the next Satya Yuga will begin.

The concept of the four Yugas is a way of understanding the cycles of change and progress in the world. It teaches us that everything is impermanent and that even the darkest of times will eventually give way to a new beginning.

The Correlation Between Human Years and Divine Years

As mentioned earlier, the years of human beings and the years of deities are different. One human year is equal to one day of deities. So, to calculate the time period of Yuga in the context of human years, we need to multiply the divine years by 360.

Four Yugas

For example, Four Yugas:

  • Kali Yuga is of 1200 divine years. So, in human years, it will be 1200 × 360 = 432,000 human years.
  • The double the time period of Kali Yuga will be Dwapar Yuga i.e. 864,000 human years.
  • Treta Yuga will be three times the time period of Kali Yuga i.e. 1,296,000 human years.
  • And Satya Yuga will be four times the time period of Kali Yuga i.e. 1,728,000 human years.
  • So, the combined time period of four Yugas, or Maha Yuga, will be 43,20,000 human years.

The End of Kali Yuga

It is believed that the current Kali Yuga will end in 426,000 years. After that, the next Satya Yuga will begin. The end of Kali Yuga is often associated with a number of signs and portents, such as natural disasters, social unrest, and the decline of religious values.

Four Yugas

However, it is important to remember that the end of Kali Yuga is not the end of the world. It is simply a transition to a new era, one that is characterized by peace, prosperity, and harmony.

The Importance of the Yugas: Four Yugas

The concept of the four Yugas is an important one in Hinduism. It teaches us about the cycles of change and progress in the world, and it gives us hope for the future. Even though the current Kali Yuga is a time of darkness and suffering, we know that it will eventually give way to a new Satya Yuga. This gives us the strength to endure the challenges of the present and to work towards a better future.

Unveiling the Mystical Dimensions of Time in Hinduism: The Yugas, Divine Timelines, and Kaal

बहूनि हि तवात्रेतद् गान्धर्वं श्रृण्वतः चतुर्युगा व्यतीतानि।

विष्णु पुराण

The concept of time, as understood in Hinduism, is both complex and fascinating, embedded with multiple layers of cyclical ages, or Yugas. The concept extends beyond mere human comprehension, intertwining with divine timelines and cosmic phenomenon. This article aims to demystify the esoteric understanding of these four Yugas and their impact on humankind. Four Yugas

दत्त्वा  कन्याम् स

नृपोजगाम हिमाचलम् वै

तपसे धृतात्मा।

– विष्णु पुराण

The tale of King Rewat and his daughter Rewati, narrated in Vishnu Purana, serves as an excellent parable to understand the disparity in timelines experienced by humans, deities, and the Brahma Lok (Brahma’s abode). As per the story, King Rewat visited Brahma Lok, seeking advice for his daughter’s marriage. Upon their arrival, they waited for a musical performance by two Gandharvas to conclude. However, during the time they spent in Brahma Lok, which seemed a short while, four Yugas had passed on Earth.

This variance in the passage of time reflects the distinct temporal dimensions that coexist in Hindu mythology. Such intricate understanding of time is known as Kaal, which the Surya Siddhanta classifies into two types: the destroyer of the world, and the measurable time period. The measurable time is further divided into Gross time (Sthula Kaal), representing measurable earthly time, and Subtle time (Sukshma Kaal), a non-measurable eternal timeline. Astrology, a significant aspect of Hindu philosophy, aims to comprehend this measurable time.

Decoding Four Yugas Cycle: A Deep Dive into the Lunar Calendar and Yuga Timelines in Human Years

However, to comprehend the timeline of Yugas concerning human years, we must explore the lunar calendar. The Indian Vedic month, based on the lunar cycle, comprises 30 days. Combining 12 lunar months results in a Vedic year, equivalent to 360 days. Scriptures suggest that one human year equates to a single day of the deities. Thus, 1 Kali Yuga is equal to 1200 divine years or 432,000 human years.

Krishna Astrology Horoscope

To conclude, the Dwapar Yuga lasts for 864,000 human years, Treta Yuga for 1,296,000 human years, and Satya Yuga for 1,728,000 human years. The total duration of all four Yugas adds up to 4,320,000 human years, known as a Maha Yuga.

In essence, the Hindu concept of time isn’t merely a linear progression of past, present, and future but a cyclical continuum spanning

  • Let’s continue the conversation on Twitter. Follow us for daily insights and astrology updates.
  • Dive deeper into the celestial world with more of our insightful articles on Krishna Astrology Horoscope.
  • Interested in a personalized horoscope reading? Feel free to contact us, we’d be more than happy to assist you on your cosmic journey.
Scroll to Top